Ritsurin Koen's origins date back from 1625, when the feudal lord of Takamatsu began its construction as a private garden. Through the years it was improved and expanded by successive generations of lords, until it was finally completed around 100 years later, in 1745. With the decline of the feudal system, Ritsurin became property of the Meiji Government and was opened to the public in 1875. Years later, n 1953, it was designated as Special Place of Scenic Beauty.
HOW TO GET THERE
JR Kotoku Line 5 min. 200¥
Ritsurin Park's north entrance can be reached on a 5 minute walk from Ritsurin Koen-Kitaguchi train station.