The five storied pagoda was constructed in 1442 by the samurai Ouchi Morimi to commemorate the death of his older brother and belonged to a different Temple named Koshaku-ji. When the Ouchi family declined the Koshaku-ji Temple was moved to another location leaving the pagoda behind and, in 1609, the Ruriko-ji Temple was moved to the present site.
Besides the impressive 31 meter tall pagoda, which is designated as National Treasure, the Temple features a beautiful garden with a large pond and a main Temple hall.
HOW TO GET THERE
Yamaguchi Line 25 min. 230¥
Ruriko-ji is located about 3 Km north of Yamaguchi train station. It can be reached on foot or by rental bicycles, which are available in front of the station.