The Takayama Jinya was a branch office of the Edo Bafuku, the government that wielded power over Japan during the Tokugawa Shogunate in the Edo period (1603-1868). It was used to directly control the Hida Province from 1692 to 1868 and, after the Shogunate fell, it was converted to a prefectural office by the Meiji Government and acted as such until 1969. Nowadays it's designated as a National Historic Site and is open to the public as a museum.
Takayama Jinya is a complex formed by several structures. Its main building is a reconstruction dating from 1816 and features a collection of beautifully preserved tatami rooms, which contain historical items and explanations to illustrate how the Bafuku worked. Beside the main building is an ancient rice storehouse built in 1600, which was used to store farmer's taxes and is one of the biggest and oldest remaining in Japan.
Morning markets, also known as asa-ichi are among of Takayama's best known sights and are held every morning in two different locations: in front of the Takayama Jinya and along the Migawa river in the old Town, west of the bridge. These markets are formed by several stalls, where local farmers and craftsmen sell fresh vegetables, fruits, pickles and all sorts of traditional crafts.
The Higashiyama Temple walk is a pleasant 3.5Km walking route surrounded by nature, located on a hilly area in the eastern part of Takayama. The walking trail starts from an area known as Teramachi, or Temple town, which congregates over a dozen historical temples and shrines, and ends in Shiroyama Park, a public park established around the ruins of Takayama Castle, which is specially popular in springtime due to its numerous cherry trees.
Hida Limited Express
All of Takayama's attractions are located within a short walk from each other and can be reached within a 10 to 15 minute walk from Takayama station. Rental bicycles are also a good option.
Alternatively a sightseeing bus route is available from Takayama Station, running circularly to the Sannomachi District.