The castle survived to several natural disasters along its history and was spared during the Meiji Restoration, after the Shogunate fell, but was mostly burnt down in the 1945 air raids of World War II. The present keep is a modern ferro-concrete reconstruction dating from 1959 and equipped with an elevator, which houses a museum. The museum is centered on the history of Nagoya Castle and exhibits a collection of important cultural assets which escaped from the fire, such as armors, paintings and decorated doors from the former lords palace.
The Kinshachi, two massive tiger-headed dolphins covered in gold and located on the roof, are Nagoya Castle's most famous feature. Used as a talisman to prevent fires, they became a symbol of the city until they were lost to fire along with the keep. The dolphins were replaced with new ones in 1959, following the design of the originals. In 2009 works began to reconstruct the Honmaru Goten, or lord's palace, exclusively using traditional materials and techniques to create a faithful replica. The construction is expected to be completed by 2018.